Tips and Treats

TV to comfort

Thank the heavens for box sets and on-demand TV, that’s all I can say!

Whether during the dreaded two week wait (2WW) from embryo transfer day, the first several agonising weeks of pregnancy or post miscarriage, I’ve turned to several TV box sets to get me through the long, boring, or painful moments.

The first time I had embryo transfer was straight after my fresh IVF cycle, so I was still coming down from all the effects of the stimulation drugs. My hormones were all over the place, my ovaries were still tender, and I was obviously new to all this IVF malarkey. I rested up for the first couple of days after transfer, and boy did I need to – my body and little heart were battered by the process I’d been going through, I was tired and needed a pick me up.

And subsequently, in my following 2WWs, early pregnancies and subsequent miscarriages, a well-chosen TV show here and there has really helped take my mind off what I’ve been going through.

So, even though I wouldn’t advocate TV as the saviour of all, it’s good to realise that it’s easy, accessible, allows you to escape the here and now, and can really help you relax and ‘stop thinking’ for an hour or two.

I’d already watched some of these shows before, but I love a good re-watch of a favourite show. Some of these are oldies, but if you’ve not checked these shows out, give them a go….

Comedy

  • Community
  • New Girl
  • Happy Endings
  • Arrested Development
  • The Office US
  • Better Off Ted
  • Peep Show

Drama

  • Mozart in the Jungle
  • Breaking Bad
  • Hustle
  • Marco Polo
  • The Good Wife
  • Game of Thrones

Crime

  • The Mentalist
  • Elementary
  • Person of Interest

 

At the moment, I’m juggling several – Elementary, Covert Affairs, Lucifer and Person of Interest – some of which are just ‘my’ shows and others I’ll watch in the evening with the hubby. There have been loads more, but my mind’s drawing a blank to remember them (ditz that I am!) If you’ve watched anything worth taking a peek at, please share below – thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

